How I Became a Local

Mickey Mouse, Goofy, my daughter, and IOne chilly Denver morning in March 2011, I was sitting cross-legged across from my five year old daughter, both of us huddled over a coloring book. I was trying to plan out the rest of our day when my husband came home from work somewhat unexpectedly.

About twenty minutes later, everything had changed. His company was planning to move us from Denver to San Diego by the end of June, just three months away! He felt that it would be a good idea to shop his resume around and see what might happen. Just imagine how excited we were, lifetime Disney fans, when he got an amazing job offer from a company in the Orlando area, an offer that basically described his dream job.

Now it’s the end of July and I am sitting in my living room in Central Florida, about forty minutes away from the front gate of Walt Disney World. To be honest, I’m still a little surprised it all worked out so well.

One of the first things I discovered about being a WDW local is that every day you spend on WDW resort property has an entirely different feel to it, a different pace. All of those wonderful things that we never made time to fit in on our previous trips seem to be calling out to us. Now that I’ve experienced some of the lesser-traveled (and very fun!) corners of the World, I realize that we could have fitted them into our park touring on our previous trips easily and I wish we’d tried them out sooner. Each one of those little gems deserves their own time in the spotlight. That’s what I’d love to share with my fellow Disney fans. I just hope I can do them all justice.

About Kathy

I'm a lifetime Disney Parks fan who recently (and coincidentally) found herself relocated to Central Florida. These are our adventures visiting the many attractions and exhibits that are all too easy to overlook in favor of the headliner and super-headliner attractions.
This entry was posted in About Us and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

