Go Often Enough and You’ll See: Space Mountain with the Lights On

There are certain things that happen in the parks that you hear about but have never seen. When you’re a local and you go more often, you obviously have a better chance of seeing some of these uncommon or rare events. Eventually, you may find yourself in the right place at the right time. When those things happen to me, I’m going to try to find a way to record those events and share them here with you.

The first one I’d like to share is something I was very excited to see. We recently rode the TTA Peoplemover and when we got to the section that overlooks Space Mountain, Space Mountain was down and the lights were up inside the ride building. Once I realized what we were seeing, I quickly adjusted the settings on my camera and took as many pictures as I could.

Let me interrupt myself, because this brings me to a good tip! When you are on the various attractions which give you a height advantage (like the Peoplemover, Dumbo and Dumbo-type rides, or even the section on Expedition Everest just before your vehicle begins to move backward) or which pass close to or through other attractions, keep your camera on and ready to take pictures. You never know what you might see.

Back to Space Mountain, though! if you have ever been curious about what the ride structure really looks like, browse the image gallery below. But first, let me warn you, you may wish to skip it if you’d like to keep the realities of Space Mountain a mystery.

About Kathy

I'm a lifetime Disney Parks fan who recently (and coincidentally) found herself relocated to Central Florida. These are our adventures visiting the many attractions and exhibits that are all too easy to overlook in favor of the headliner and super-headliner attractions.
This entry was posted in Go Often Enough and You'll See, Magic Kingdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Go Often Enough and You’ll See: Space Mountain with the Lights On

  1. Lesley says:

    So cool! There is a lot more structure in there than I’d imagined.

    • Kathy says:

      I know! I couldn’t believe all of the staircases and columns and stuff. I think I’ll try to go back to picturing it as a rocket flying freely through space, though. 😉

  2. monica says:

    Did see this once, back in ’88. They needed to attend to a mechanical problem while we were waiting in line. At the time it made me a little edgy, but looking back (having survived the ride!) it’s a cool memory.

    • Kathy says:

      Some people worry that seeing too much might “ruin the magic”, as they say, but it always works the opposite way with me. The more I see how it works, the more awesome it seems to me.

Leave a Reply

