Offbeat Fireworks Views: Wishes from Big Thunder Mountain Railroad

I have been to the Magic Kingdom many times, both as a visitor and a local. I enjoy watching the fireworks shows there (currently, the show is “Wishes”) and I have seen the show from many locations. I’ve seen it from several conventional viewing locations, like on Main Street, from the Contemporary’s observation deck, and from the Top of the World Lounge. Very soon, on my 39th birthday, I will watch it from the Wishes Dessert Party. None of these are my favorite viewing location, though.

So what is my favorite viewing location, do you ask? I found it utterly by accident, one night when we were in Frontierland, taking advantage of the shorter lines for Splash Mountain and Big Thunder Mountain Railroad during Wishes. We boarded Big Thunder and rode, then saw about 1/3 of Wishes from right there on the ride. The novelty of Wishes overlaid with our trip on the runaway mine train really appealed to me. It’s not the most stable or sedate view, but you earn every burst you are able to watch as your mine car rushes along. I took a little video (as much as I could hold my camera steady!) the last time we managed to get our timing just right.

Yes, it’s kind of difficult to time your ride on BTMRR with Wishes, and I don’t advocate driving the cast members crazy asking to wait before you board in an attempt to get on the ride at the right time. I think it’s one of those things where the challenge in trying to judge the length of the queue adds to the appreciation of the experience when you get it right.

If you catch the first part of Wishes while you’re riding, you’ll be happy to know that there are decent viewing vantage points just outside the exit of BTMRR. I took a little video of the last part of Wishes as viewed from outside the exit of BTMRR.

So if you’re up for a challenge, try watching Wishes from my favorite location, mid-ride on Big Thunder Mountain Railroad. And bonus: If you head to Splash Mountain right after you’re done watching Wishes, you can probably ride it with a very short wait.

About Kathy

I'm a lifetime Disney Parks fan who recently (and coincidentally) found herself relocated to Central Florida. These are our adventures visiting the many attractions and exhibits that are all too easy to overlook in favor of the headliner and super-headliner attractions.
This entry was posted in Events, Magic Kingdom, Offbeat Fireworks Views and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

